Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have one male and one female yellow lab. I just recently saw that my female has spawned. She has eggs in her mouth. I am not 100% sure that the male has fertilized the eggs yet. He keeps doing his little dance all over her and is chasing her. She wants nothing to do with him. Once I found out she has eggs in her mouth, I divided the tank and put her and the male together. She seems really stressed and is hiding out at the top corner. My question is, should I separate the male and female? How do I know if the eggs are fertilized? I'm sorry, but I am very new to this and I really want the female lab to produce some offspring. Thanks

·
Registered
1,512 Posts
Dont bother separating them yet.

Wait about 3 weeks, then pull her - put her into a small tank with a sponge filter.

Then strip her at your convenience.

Welcome to the forums!

By the way, you should generally mention what size tank you have, etc.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply, sorry, I have a 55 gallon long tank with a fluval 305 and an aquaclear 70. Her and the other male have about 25 gallons divided off as their own section. I did this when I saw that she had eggs in her mouth. Are you sure I should wait 3 weeks to pull the male? She looks really stressed and he is chasing her and she is freaking out. Here is a pic I managed to get of her:

90% of the time she is cowering in the top corner of the tank because the male is trying to do his mating dance on her. [/img]

·
Registered
40 Posts
im somewhat new also but i was under the impression that once she is holding the eggs are already fertilized. Dosnt the female lay the eggs on a large flat rock then the male fertilizes them and then the mother scoops them up in her mouth???

·
Registered
60 Posts