Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello there,

I am just cyling my tank ready for 6 off Yellow Labs. They are all young at the LFS so I would ideally like to put them all in together. They are all about 1" and will get feed bloodworm and flake mainly, at least in the beginning.

I was wondering what sort of ammonia load these fish would create?

I am new to all of this and but from what I understand it would be best to to load my tank with a similar level as the spike has now passed.

Any and all help greatly apprecaited.

·
Registered
729 Posts
You will probably be fine putting in all six fish. What size tank is it?

Adding Biospira has helped me to avoid any ammonia spikes. Otherwise you can ask the LFS for some used filter media to help boost the bacteria right off.

Check the water daily for ammonia and nitrites and if you notice spikes, do immediate water changes as necessary until the bacteria kick in.

I would avoid the blood worms in yellow labs though. They can get bloat from them. A vegi flake and/or pellet would be better.

Post some pics when you get them please!

·
Registered
1,234 Posts
Don't feed them blood worm, they will get bloat as cichlidwhisperer has already stated.
Feed them NLS and a high quality flake rich in spiralina and plant matter

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the input. Its a 40g Jewel 180 BF.

Its very good to know about the bloodworm as I was told by the LFS that that was a good food for them. The misses will be well chuffed that I wont be putting them into the tank though!

I have been doing a fishless cycle and now the ammonia is being eaten at a considerable rate so i'm hoping that there wont be any ammonia spike (and any unnessisary water changes)

I will post up a pic of them in the LFS when I find my phone cable. Particularly as three of them seem to have dark vertical strips. I think they may be crosses.....

·
Registered
1,234 Posts