Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just got a reverse trio of Archocentrus nanoluteus and was wondering what kind of tankmates they would tolerate. They are currently in a 20 gal Long and I will probably move the extra male out once I figure out the pair. I wouldn't mind a bn pleco or oto's if the nano's won't eat them and maybe some small dithers. I am pretty new to cichlids and was hoping to try and breed these eventually. Any suggestions?

·
Registered
505 Posts
I would go for very peaceful tank mates. These guys are pretty fragile so watch water quality as well. I've found they do much better with not much current.

·
Registered
262 Posts
PirateCrash said:
A clown would grow waay too big for a 20 gal.

I say plecos would work, even a yoyo loach or 2.
I'm pretty sure he the OP meant Clown Pleco, or Panaque maccus if you will, not a Clown Knife. A Clown pleco would work fine size wise, but I'd read that profile to make sure its the fish for you. I have a bunch of BN plecs on my hands right now, and they produce a ton of minature sized waste. But they are good fish and comical to watch.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
I did mean a clown pleco and I have one in my show tank right now, but I was thinking about putting the clown in my 20G long Archocentrus nanoluteus tank and putting a bn in my show tank. I know clowns only get 4-5" long. But tha is my question, do you think a 20Gal long with three nano's and a clown is over stocked? If not, what are some good dithers to add as well.

·
Registered
505 Posts
I've had a clown plec in my 33 Gal for at least 4 years and he is still only about 3".

I think you could put a small school of fast moving dithers in there as well. About 6 - 8 of the smaller tetras would work. They may get eaten eventually but should be fine for a while.

Make sure the female has lots of hiding places as the male may get to be too much for her.

·
Registered
55 Posts