Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
207 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello, newbie here !

this is my first post. I've been in the hobby for a very long time but this will be my first try at a cichlids tank, or anything other than freshwater community fish, really. I'm hoping you can help me with this important question.

First, I'm in Canada and will not have access to pure ammonia if it is needed. It's not sold in my country and ordering some would take months.

My first concern is losing my cycle: I have a 45 gallons freshwater tank with only 10 small fish left (an accident happened in the tank and I lost most of my fish, which led me to decide to do this switch). The fish will be rehomed and then I'll set up the tank for Mbunas. When I get the tank ready, the filter will not be running for 2-3 hours, which I'm afraid will affect the nitrifying bacteria. Once it starts running again, there will be no inhabitants in the tank until the water parameters (GH, KH and PH) are good (how long will that be and will this delay kill all my nitrifying bacteria?). It will be a few days before I can get to the store.

I have never played with PH, ever. My current PH is 7.0 90% of the time and it might fluctuate between 6.8 and 7.2. I had my water tested and something (KH or GH) was between 30 and 40 and apparently that was good. Sorry, I have no experience with GH and KH either, never had to bother with it.

My second concern is that my bioload of beneficial bacteria will not be sufficient to sustain the 12 fish, even small, that I plan to add. I've read about the importance of adding all the fish at once, and I'm afraid doing so will crash my cycle. I don't want to kill the fish and/or lose hundreds of dollars doing so !

I have started to prepare and bought 40 lbs of CaribSea Seafloor special grade reef sand dry Aragonite and 10 pounds of buffering rocks. I was told I would need cichlid salt and buffer, which I plan to buy.