Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
heh! yes he is :)
i am guessing central or south american by his body size and shape but i am not good at this stuff.

·
Registered
912 Posts
Appears to be Vieja bifasciatus, best guess.

·
Registered
2,440 Posts
Chromedome52 said:
Appears to be Vieja bifasciatus, best guess.
I would agree. Has most similarity to V. bifaciatus because of the large black blotch in the middle of the body. But with Vieja/Paratheraps it is very difficult to distinguish and determine whether or not fishes are crosses because individuals are highly varibale and the differnt species are very similar. The red on the fins and and the red breast would seem to suggest Black belt ancestory but who knows for sure.

The color on the face, as well, is quite typical of what is fairly common for many black belts.

·
Registered
351 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
he doesnt show them much, but he has three vertical black blotch/stripes down the middle back area on both sides.

is this type of fish related to flowerhorn? when i try those names online i sometimes see flowerhorn tied in with it. can you tell me about this fish's typical attitude?
can it be housed with other fish? with my midas or no? smaller cichlids or no?

or direct me to a good site maybe?

·
Registered
2,440 Posts
awilson0001 said:
is this type of fish related to flowerhorn? when i try those names online i sometimes see flowerhorn tied in with it. can you tell me about this fish's typical attitude?
can it be housed with other fish? with my midas or no? smaller cichlids or no?
Flowerhorn is a term for various crossbred CA cichlid breeds. Some do pocess Veija/Paratheraps ancestory, though most strains seem to show greatest similarity to the Trimac cichlid ("exCichlasoma" trimaculatus) and/or Amphilophus species (RD/Midas).

These are thelists of paratheraps species: http://www.cichlidae.com/gallery/genus.php?id=66