Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey Guys. I'm new to Cichlids (a few months) and I'm realizing that I need to let some (if not all) of my Mbunas go if I want to start stocking Peacocks. I've already found new homes for my Rusty and Demisoni, but I still have 4 left and I really don't want to part with them. I only have 1 peacock now, but I'm going to get 4-5 more so they are more prevalent in the tank.

-The 4 mbuna's I have left are 1 ea. yellow lab,snow white scodolfi, Mel. Expasterus 'blue', and a yellowtail acei. Are there any right off the bat that wont work for sure? All are very docile. Would out numbering the Mbunas I have with Peacocks help?

-I also have 4 Lake Tanganyikans. (3 Neo's and 1 Calvus). These guys will be fine, right?

-What I'm concerned about is the Peacocks developing their colors. Would 2 Mbuna's still prohibit them from coloring properly? Would the Lake Tan. allow them to Color?

-And last (thanks for being patient!) I am concerned about feeding them. I know Peacocks need protein and I don't want the Mbunas to get bloat. The ones I have are pretty strong (unlike Troph.), so should I feed them first with Spirulina, and then feed the rest protein after the Mbunas are full?

I know there aren't black and white answers to this. Some mix successfully and others don't. I think the Mbunas I have are probably the most calm I've seen (as juveniles at least). I'm pretty much mostly concerned about the Peacocks coloring, and also everyone getting the nutrition they need. If anyone can give me some advise, I would be most appreciative.

Thanks!

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·