Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
what is the difference between hap and peacock fish, like how can i tell them apart?
sorry im new to the cichlid keeping i would like to know so i can keep the correct type in my tank.

·
Registered
1,234 Posts
keep some you will soon be able to tell peacocks from other haps.

Make sure you buy from highly regarded breeders to. Most LFS's would put the label Aulonocara Jacobfreibergi on their own grandmother just to make a buck.

·
Registered
2,596 Posts
Get familiar with them through the profile section here on this site.
The peacocks are Aulonocara genus.
There are more genus of haps.. Copadichromis, Nibochromis, Placidochromis, & Protomelas are some of the genus. I think there might be more but I'm not very familiar with them either. Maybe someone else can be of more help but this should give you a general idea and something to go by.

·
Super Moderator
40,716 Posts
IMO it's better to buy fish with the scientific names and locations at purchase than to try and buy from assorted tanks and force a name onto the fish later. You will never be sure.

When you enter the Profile section, above the place where you choose a Group to search on, there is a link to African Cichlid Genus Gallery. It shows a representative fish from many of the main types of africans all on one page so you can get an idea of how they look different.

Aulonocara are the peacocks. Haps include groups like Copadichromis, Placidochromis, Protomelas and others.

·
Super Moderator
40,716 Posts
Aulonocara have similar body shapes. Haps have variable body shapes. Some haps look a little more like peacocks (C.trewavasae, IMO from pics) and some look way different (Dimidiochromis).

Did you take a look at the genus gallery?

If you are experienced, you can tell adults apart no problem and probably even ID which hap or peacock it is. Juvies and females may be more challenging.

·
Registered
1,783 Posts