Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been looking into starting an African Cichlid tank for some time, and I think I'm ready to take (or start) the plunge. My tap water is super hard. I have lots of experience with fish, I have kept/have SA dwarf cichlids, oscars, and a whole giant assortment of community fish. But the amount of information out there about African cichlids is just staggering! I honestly dont' know where to start!

I bought a 55 gallon tank. It's got two over sized filters, and I'm used to cleaning up after oscars, so I'm hoping water quality won't be too much of an issue.

Does anyone have ideas for fish I could put in this tank? I know african cichlids can be very aggressive, but I'd really like more than one fish in the tank. I know it's a small tank, but could I fit 3 or 4 fish in there? Should I go with all one species, and sort out sex ratios, or mix and match? There are just so many species I don't even know where to start!

The other thing is this: I'm limited to pretty common species. Like...ones you can obtain at large chain pet stores. I actually wrote down all of the ones available at petsmart to do some research on them, and they only offer 13 species.

So if anyone has any advice, I'm all ears! Thank you in advance!

·
Registered
10,006 Posts
I actually wrote down all of the ones available at petsmart to do some research on them, and they only offer 13 species.
I think the easiest way to help is for you to list what's available to you. Then we can sort them out and suggest possible combinations.

·
Registered
1,783 Posts
Welcome to Africans, almost... :D