Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Saw this guy at my LFS in the assorted tank and want an Id before i buy he is about 1 inch so still very small

And on another note i know what this fish it but here lately she has been getting fatter and was wondering if she is pregnant.

·
Registered
73 Posts
To me the top one looks like a Tawian Reef and the second looks like a Melanochromis Auratus. Im by no means an expert please correct me if I'm wrong

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Yeah i know what the second one is i was just wondering if she was pregnant or just fat. And i was always wondering about the top being a taiwan reef.

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
pit2005 said:
Yeah i know what the second one is i was just wondering if she was pregnant or just fat. And i was always wondering about the top being a taiwan reef.
Fat. Auratus are mouth brooders.

·
Registered
65 Posts
Fat. Auratus are mouth brooders
Just because it is a mouth brooder does not mean it is just fat. Mouth brooders do get pregnant if that is what you want to call it and plump up full of eggs a few days before they lay to be taken into the mouth. What is the size of this auratus are you even sure it is a female?

·
Registered
6,748 Posts
Dominant males are black.. If no other auratus male in your tank then at 3" pretty safe bet it is female. Never seen a auratus so full of eggs it looked like that. Not sure its just fat may be ill. Though apart from the distended abdomen it looks healthy I guess 2 weeks without food and a dose of Epsom salts might help reduce the swelling.
Please check the poo. If white or stringy or clear and jelly like I would reach for your bloat treatments.

All the best James

·
Registered
1,747 Posts