Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am brand new to cichlids. My tank will be here in about a week, and I am trying to get all my supplies together.

I will be placing Malawi cichlids in my tank.

When it comes to the water quality I know all the basics, you need to add water conditioner, keep ammonia at zero, low nitrates, high PH for cichlids.

When doing water changes do I need to add anything besides the water conditioner? That eliminates the need for an osmosis system right?

Is there anything else I need to add?

-Thank you for your help

·
Super Moderator
40,523 Posts
If your water will work with Malawi...try to add as few chemicals as possible other than dechlorinator.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
If the dechlorinator is all I need that's all ill do. When I went to buy it they were suggesting other things so I want sure if I actually needed the other things.

·
Super Moderator
1,861 Posts
Do you already have a test kit? If so, what brand and type kit.

I recommend also testing your tap water for the same things you test your tank for in order to know whether you need to adjust the water parameters.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
That is what I forgot to get. Yes, I need to get a kit. I have one from when I first started fish keeping but it is old and probably getting close to empty. I believe it is the API kit. I know my water is hard water. WIth a high PH level. I have not checked it myself, but we have an osmosis system for our drinking water. (Because our local water tastes terrible) I have looked at getting an osmosis system for this tank. But the conditioner says it dechlorinates the water, so I dismissed that idea and sense a high PH is good I assumed it was all ok. Am I right?

We also have the holey rock which is supposed to help raise the PH as well I believe.