Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, I'm new to cichlids but have had fish for years. I have a 135 gallon I'd like to use for cichlids.

I wanted to keep...

2 Crenicichla xingu (orange pike)
2 crenicichla johanna
2 Aequidens rivulatus (Green Terror)
1 Jack Dempsey

Will that be ok for my 135 gallon?
Will I be needing lots of decor and hiding spots?

Also, I have no idea how much these fish cost and was wondering if anyone could give me rough estimate in Canadian dollars.

How much do the following fish cost at an average size and are they hard to find?

1. Crenicichla xingu (orange pike)
2. crenicichla johanna
3. red atabapo (had trouble finding fact sheets on them, but pics look nice)
4. red tapajos (had trouble finding fact sheets on these guys too, but pics look nice)
5. Aequidens rivulatus (Green Terror)
6. Jack Dempsey
7. Red terror

Thanks for your help. I need it.

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
oscarlover43055 said:
Green terror=easy to find around 15 bucks

Jack Dempsey= super easy to find 10 bucks or lsee... not sure about the rest...
what do you think about my stocking though?

2 xingu
2 johanna
1 JD
1-2 GT

going to be ok? or result in death?

·
Registered
6,820 Posts
Pike are pretty darn aggressive... You are suggesting placing 7 fish together that all grow fairly large and are each well known for aggression...

I would think that 7 large growing predators would be full, if not overstocked, for a 135 gal tank...

As an all female tank, I think it would work but is full... as an all male tank I think it would be too much aggression... If mixing genders and a breeding pair of any listed species forms, I would expect disaster...

·
Registered
1,078 Posts