Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
There's no way to figure this out so I thought I'd ask to see if anyone knows:

I have two 50 lb bags of Pool Filter Sand. Does anyone have a guess as to the VOLUME of PFS in these bags?

Or, more precisely, it is enough to give me an inch or so over the bottom of my 125 (72x18) tank?

kevin

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
That must be a pretty rough calculator since it ascribes the same density to all "sand," but handy just the same!

Thanks,

kevin

·
Registered
170 Posts
This is how I would calculate it: Dump two bags in your tank. If it's not enough, go buy another bag. :p

I'm not good with #'s. :D

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
This is one bag, 50lbs, in a 55 gallon 48x12x21.

·
Registered
1,757 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I'm sitting on two bags (don't even know what colour it is!) so I'll go with those and see. Getting more PFS in a Toronto winter is a bit of a non-starter.

As Zimmy pointed out, I've got an inch and a third, which will probably work out fine since big chunks of the floor space will be taken up by rocks anyway.

Thanks for the replies.

kevin

G

·
i put 3 bags of 50 lb pfs in my 125 gallon and it gave me about 2 inchs... its more than enough so you dont have to add sand for a long time due to losing a little each time from the gravel vac.. you could get away with 2 bags but i jus figured ill put 3 so its a little deeper.. plus my botias dig in it like crazy...

·
2,106 Posts
recently added 100lbs of PFS to both a 180 (24x72) and a 150 (18x72). IMO, it was slightly too much for the 150. You will easily get the 1" you want. Closer to 2" though.

·
Registered
2,011 Posts