Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Been having problems with my fish dying one by one. I'm new to African cichlids but have had my tank going strong for about six months and in the last 2 I have lost 4 fish. They all seem to get along fine without much aggression. All the fish have looked like this a few days before they die. All the other fish are unaffected, it's just one at a time. Looked it up and looked like TB to me. I don't want to be that web MD guy though. Any help is greatly appreciated.

Parameters: PH 8.0, Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 20, Temp 80, 36 Gallon tank, 30 gallon and 40 gallon HOB filtration. 40% water change weekly.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
1,862 Posts
Welcome to C-F!!

Sorry you have lost fish as it's always difficult even when they are new.

The fish in your pic does look beat up and it is possible the fuzziness I see is a secondary infection. Your water parameters look good though I would lower the water temperature to between 76F and 78F as warmer temps can accelerate a secondary infection such as fungus.

What are the dimensions of your 36G tank and is it a rectangular tank?

I have a feeling you have too many fish in that tank just judging by the fish I see in your picture. Can you post how many fish you do have and what species they are?

Are you adding any other products to the tank besides using a water conditioner?

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·