Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
24 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I realize I am about to be torched!! Let it begin. I have no affiliation with the pondguru or great wave engineering.

DISCLAIMER: There is nothing scientific about the following. Just my observations.

I have been raising African cichlids for thirty years plus.

Original set up:

55 Gallon Tank with 18 to 22 African cichlids (Overstocked)
Cobalt EXT, Aquaclear 70, Fluval C4, and extra large sponge filter
All Filters have Filter Max IV pre-filters.

The canister and HOB filters had sponges, some Matrix and some bio rings.

average water perimeters: 0 Ammonia, 0 Nitrites and 40 Nitrates.
It seemed, it did not matter how often or how much water I changed, nitrates were always high. Sometimes 3 times a week. If I did less than two water changes a week 80 nitrates were easily achieved.

5 months ago I began changing all of my biomedia to biohome ultimate.

Current set up:

55 Gallon Tank with 18 to 22 African cichlids (Overstocked)

I have seven pounds of biohome ultimate in the EXT, 1 pound in the Aquaclear 70 and half a pound in the Fluval C4 and still have the sponge filter going. I still have no other media other than sponges and biohome ultimate.

I now do one 50% water change a week.

Two weeks of daily water tests for the past two week have all been identical: 0 Ammonia, 0 Nitrites and 10 Nitrates

Call me crazy, but this stuff works and I haven't lost a fish in quite some time.

Thanks, Rob

·
Registered
55 Posts
Just from the videos I have watched on this media, and to my limited knowledge this media does seem to be pretty awesome in its porosity.
Im just skeptic on the cost/effectiveness ratio.

·
Registered
449 Posts
jcarson said:
Just from the videos I have watched on this media, and to my limited knowledge this media does seem to be pretty awesome in its porosity.
Im just skeptic on the cost/effectiveness ratio.