Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I received my 1.5 " chimba trophs yesterday and I am new to keeping these fish. Though I have been in the hobby for over 20 yrs, I have never been able to afford them, but always wanted them!
I am in love! But want to know if they will benifit/or be harmed from alot of circulation in the water? I have an external filter going, and a penplax aggitator. They seem fine and enjoy swimming in the current, but do they need a calm spot in the aquarium to rest in also?
These little guys and girls are eating fine and getting fed small amounts of special troph food up to 6x a day. How often should I feed them if they are in such an environment?

·
Registered
1,642 Posts
I have the #4 Koralia pump (1200 GPH) in my 180 gallon tank and I like it. It keeps debris suspended in the water so it eventually goes into the filters. Tropheus don't mind the current.
I got my tropheus two months ago - in the 1.25 to 2 inch range.
I fed mine sparingly (Once a day ) for three days, then increased to twice a day.
I don't know what you mean by "special troph food". I fed mine New Life Spectrum from the start and never lost a fish. In two months time they are all in the 2-3 inch range now.

·
Registered
325 Posts
I use an AC 110 powerhead (950 gph) in my 125. The flow is directed from the upper right corner, down across the tank, in to a rock pile on the left. My trophs use the fast moving current and the less turbulent areas equally. The water circulation keeps the debris moving and increases turn over at the surface. It's all good. :thumb:

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·