Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys,

I'm considering setting up a 46g bowfront African cichlid tank. As I'm new to African cichlids, I'd appreciate some tips and advice. I realize that a 46 Bow is not the optimal size for a cichlid tank, but I do not intend to go for a community setup.

I would like the tank to be a species-specific biotope - I'm considering either Johannis (a harem), Yellow Labs (wondering if a harem is necessary) or Pseudotropheus Acei (which seem to be fine as a group and low on aggression). For the substrate, I'll use aragonite sand. I'll probably employ a canister filter (probably rated for ~100g tank, I'm a firm believer in never having enough filtration). I'll likely use a pair of heaters.

For the decor, I have access to some well-sized granite stones from a nearby dismantled railroad (though I'd like to run some tests on these stones to confirm that they're granite). These will be placed on top of egg create to help distribute the weight. I'm also debating whether to find a nice large manzanita wood stump to offer additional hiding places (not exactly African, but I think it'll match the stark nature of the typical Mbuna cichlid tank).

How many fish will I be able to stock in this tank? I've heard that overstocking is better to cut down on aggression, but I'm purposely seeking more peaceful (relatively speaking) Mbunas so that this will not be an issue. The health and wellbeing of the fish is most important.

Thanks for your time and any thoughts and opinions would be appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
40,501 Posts
From your list I'd choose yellow labs, maybe 1m:4f. Johannii and acei are better in a 75G rectangle.

I'd avoid rocks from railroad beds due to toxins showering down on them from the trains.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·