Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 1 of 1 Posts

·
Administrator
3,932 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
The State of Frontosa in Australia
by Steve Carruthers

I'd best kick this thing off with the standard disclaimer. I am just a keen hobbyist, no real expert, so please give me a little rope here. At least I'm having a go. That said, personally I can thank cyphotilapia frontosa for luring me deep into the wonderful world of Tanganyikan cichlids.

Water Terrestrial plant Fish Marine biology Underwater

The first time I laid eyes on them was in a local breeder's fish room back when I was still a one community tank guy. The breeder owned a colony of Burundis and another colony of Kigomas. Amongst their fifty or so assorted tanks, those two colonies were that couple's pride and joy and sparked what has grown to be a real passion for me present day.

On a national scale we're very restricted here in Australia with the species of fish that we can import and unfortunately frontosas are not on the list. Over 99% of the frontosas here are progeny of stock brought into the country a heap of years ago when no restricted import laws existed. Back then, of course, Burundi was the only variant available. These days Burundis are a commonly seen fish in retailer's tanks, selling at around $40 AUD ($25+US) each for 1 ½ inch fry. There are plenty of nice fish out there but well barred, nicely formed fry can be mixed up with the odd malformed striped fry. So, it pays the buyer to look closely. According to discussion board guys this is not unique to Australia but the incidence of such fry turning up down here seems to be a regular thing. This is, of course, due to our limited breeding stock. Breeders down here don't have much to work with in the way of a gene pool and the best we can do is get our stock from different sources to form a colony.