Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I set up a 40 gallon long aquarium a week ago the water is cloudy and wont clear up. For filtration I'm running 2 rena power filters rated a 150 gph and a powerhead with a sponge prefilter.

I have aquarium sand as a substrate which was rinsed thouroughly. The tank was clear for a couple of days but clouded up and now I have a scum on the surface. Its a heavey scum oil slick apearance. There cloudy water also looks like theres a gas in it and I can see it swirling in the currnet.

I'm running the air vaulve on the powerhead open. If I turn the air down the corys start breathing hard and gasping.

I tested the water and there is 0 amonia and 0 nitrites. I used seachems bacteria culture in a bottle to kick start my bio filtration.

I've been keeping fish for 15 years and I'm realy stumped. The only thing I can think of is somehow I had a large bacteria die off and it's built up on the surface of the water blocking o2.

I'm thinking about tearing the whole tank down cleaning everything and starting over.

·
Registered
1,172 Posts
I almost always have a period of cloudness on a new tank as it cycles. I would however be concerned by the oil slick. I would skim that off somehow.

·
Registered
2 Posts
The same thing happened to me when I first used aquarium sand... Its particles of the sand that discolor the water. if you turn the filter off for a while it will settle back and clear up. At least thats what happened with mine. Good Luck!

·
Registered
320 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sounds like its worth trying but I don't think thats the problem. I rinsed the sand realy well and haven't disturbed it since I set the tank up. The water was clear for the frist couple of days. But then again the fish have been digging around. I have the powerhead agitating the surface hoping it would clear it up.

·
Super Moderator
1,861 Posts