Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone,

I am new to cichlid keeping. I have a couple of questions and will appreciate if you could answer them in detail:

1- What is the difference in the various Aquarium shapes, e.g. 48" long X 18" Wide X 18" High Vs. 36" Long X 24" High X 24" Wide Vs. 30" on all 3 sides.

2- Which one is better and why?

Thanks.

·
Registered
554 Posts
He should add that he's keeping mbuna :)

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the clarification Nina_b.

·
Registered
38 Posts
The 48x18x18 is best for keeping mbuna.
The reason behind this is that mbuna are highly territorial so the bigger the footprint of your tank is, the more territories there is.
Therefore you can keep more fish and happier fish and less agrression issues.

·
Registered
116 Posts
I would just say longer tanks in general are better unless you have a specific type of fish that requires a taller tank. A longer shorter tank will offer you more surface area than a taller one with the same number of gallons. More surface area=more gas exchange which allows you to keep more fish.

·
Registered
677 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks taxxara.

What about live-bearers? Which type is better for them?

·
Registered
2,304 Posts
Best? Maybe if 4' long is your limit. I'd go as big of a footprint as possible, with length being a major factor. If you can, go 6' or 8'. Why? Because you can, and your fish will love the extra room (plus you can get quite a few more!).

·
Registered
509 Posts
I'm in the same boat with a 4' space as my limit. I could possibly go 5' but it'd really crowd my furniture.

That said I'm looking to go 48x18 for the footprint. This puts the max tank as either a 90g or a 110g extra high. My thoughts on the extra high 110g is that it really would be a pain to get something at the bottom and mbuna really aren't going to use that height. So my max tank size is the 90g.