Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have recently been asked to take over care of a large African cichlid tank at my local daycare. I have no experience with anything larger than a 10 gal goldfish aquarium, and am trying to get up to speed on large cichlid tank care. The tank's previous caretaker refuses to give me any information regarding care or maintenance, so I'm trying to figure things out on the fly. The basic setup is a large corner aquarium with approx. 15 African cichlids and a large pleco. Gravel substrate with rocks and plastic plants, and aquarium heater. The front of the tank is approx 48" wide, and an automatic feeder is in place.

After some inspection and online research, the filtration unit appears to be a Marineland Tidepool I Biowheel sump system, and I am not even sure how to look down into the back corner of the tank to see what else is attached to it that might need to be maintained. I would welcome any advice on this subject, and will browse through the forum for answers in the meantime.

However, my immediate problem is this: the bottom tray of the filter stack on the Tidepool appears to have been last inserted backwards, and the water has not been flowing over the biowheel; instead it is just dumping into the pump reservoir. The biowheel, which is stagnant, is covered in sludge, as is the area immediately around it. I tried turning the tray around the right way for about 30 seconds, but so much sludge poured out of the biowheel area that I quickly put the tray back in the "wrong" way and decided to ask for help before proceeding. The water in the tank immediately clouded up, and I replaced the filter media in the trays to help get things clean again, but I want to get this system running properly.