Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im new to trophs and 2 weeks ago I watched 2 females spawn and collect eggs. Never had mouth brooders before. So its been 2 weeks and I noticed some odd behavior. Or maybe its normal so I have to ask. The holding females both head to,the top of the tank, grab a bubble of air and head down to a rck to graze. They then seem to gargle the air arounfd then release a bubble thru gills. Rinse and repeat. Is this normal ? No other fish in the tank do,this. I dont think oxygen levels are low. Lots of surface movement and filtration. Tank is 75g with 2 petros and 14 trophs so stocked a bit heavy but a very healthy and active tank. What the heck are these females doing ??? :lol:

·
2,088 Posts
I've never noticed that with my T. Pemba but do have other fish that regularly do this - cory cats specifically. Can you tell if they are still holding eggs? Usually their chin is a bit distended and you can see them shuffle the eggs around. My holding fish tend to stay towards the top half of the tank and towards the edges, as if to be inconspicuous. But there are >50 fish in the tank, so the behavior may be different.

·
Registered
79 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I actually watched 2 females spawn and retrieve eggs. Ony 2 or 3 eggs that I witnessed. Their chins are not real distended like a full mouthfull. Now there are 4 females with the same appearance and doing the same thing. Thats 4 out of 5 females now. I am at about 21 days since I saw the first 2 spawn. I guess time will tell. They came from very poor water quality so when they got here they went a little crazy in perfect conditions though I wouldnt think they were in prime spawning condition. Hope they are still carrying. Just strange to see them grab a gulp of air and go graze, then swish it around and blow a bubble after 30 seconds or so and then do it again !!

·
Registered
1,642 Posts