Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
MY male sunshine peacock has gotten a weird illness since i brought in a new fish from the petshop. His lips are swollen and look like they are disintegrating. Now it has spread to another fish. I read somewhere else that this killed someones whole tank. I read to use myacin?? I dont know what this fungus is but im pretty ubset that i might loose my fish i had for years due to a dirty petshop

·
Registered
371 Posts
I'm not a pro at all but you may do some reading up on columnaris. It was suggested to me that it may be what my fish are experiencing. Sadly, I can't get a good enough photo of my fish to post.

Anyway, a pro will be along to help you soon I'm sure. I hope you don't lose all of your fish, that is what is happening to me. I'm down from 10 to 6 since Monday. :(

·
Registered
5,315 Posts
I'm no expert either but I'm fairly certain Maracyn should take care of it. You can combine both Maracyn I and II.
Perform a water change, vaccuum your substrate, remove carbon and dose according to the instructions.
I've also read that lowering the temperature will slow the bacteria's reproduction.
Also, do regular water testing, these medications might wipe out your existing beneficial bacteria, watch for an ammonia spike during the course of treatment.
Hopefully, I haven't given any erroneous advice :oops:
Good luck!

·
Registered
52 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
The guy at the pet store said maracyn and he came to the ile with me and he ended up giving me maroxy(for true fungal infections). The intructions say to put it in the tank with out any changes being mad to ur water or filter and to do so for 5 days. In a few hours i think i already noticed some swelling going down on him. I need someone to let me know if i still need maracyn or is maroxy good enough ?

·
Registered
247 Posts