Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Now I'm new to cichlids and the names so don't jump on me if I don't have things quite right. I have a 65 gallon tank that I want to turn into a malawi tank. I know that I want some auloncara baenshi fish. I really like the bright, colorful and entertaining fish. The questions that I have are what fish do I get to go with this guy that are bright and colorful and how many can I stock in this tank? I would have to say that this will be their permanent home. I plan on getting an oscar tank going which will be massive but not for a long while. Variety and color are very important to me, but being new I'm not really too sure of what to get. Any help would be awesome.

Jon

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Wow, so what size tank would be appropriate for for peacocks? I heard that you can stock 15 mbunas in a 65g tank and I thought that they got to around the same size. Like I said I am new and this is all a bit confusing. So could I have one peacock with a quite a few smaller fish with him? My 65g is 48"l x 16"h x 16"d btw. If I decided to go mbuna strictly would I still have a good color selection? I guess the main thing that confuses me is the classification of what is mbuna and what is malawi and which can go with what. Newbie stuff I know.

Jon

·
Registered
149 Posts
Mbuna are rock fish. Peacocks and Haps are more open water or near rocks fish, all are from Lake Malawi. Check the profile section under lake Malawi. There are also some cookie cutter tanks in the library section.

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·