Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi. I am starting a 75 gallon bowfront tank. I am thinking of keeping one of the following combinations:

P. williamsi
P. acei
P. saulosi

OR

An all male show tank with various Haps and Peacocks. Does anyone have any suggestions for stocking for haps and peacocks if I decide to go that route? I was thinking of about 10 males from different groups. I can tell you the colors I like which are red, blue, yellow, maybe orange. Sorry I can't offer more background as I am just starting to learn a little more about the Haps and Peacocks. I am undecided between the above mbuna and the haps and peacocks because while I enjoy mbuna and have had them in the past I wouldn't mind having a little bit more peaceful display aquarium in my 75.

Thanks.

Karen

·
Super Moderator
40,502 Posts
What are the dimensions of the 75G bowfront on the sides? I'm used to a 72G bowfront with 12" sides, so not sure what the 75G measurement would be.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Dimensions are 48 x 18 x 24. Thanks. Another combination I had thought of was P. acei, L. caeruleus and something like Protomelas steveni reef or another hap or peacock if that would work. I know one would not usually combine mbuna with other cichlids but I wondered if it would work with these milder mbuna. Any suggestions welcome.

·
Super Moderator
40,502 Posts
A 75G rectangle is 48 x 18. A 75G bowfront would have to have a different measurement, right? The height is not a big stocking factor, but the measurement of the sides (not the middle, bowed-out front) IS a stocking factor.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·