Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
113 Posts
Kennyi or scientific Metriaclima Lombardoi can grow in aquarium conditions up to 6-6.5 inches.

A very difficult fish, by my humble opinion. Very aggressive and territorial species.

To find suitable aquarium companion is hard, people suggest to have some other aggressive species, I don't think that it is a good idea. I use to have them, they look great, and with them I had several Labidochromis Caerleus (species that finds a way to cooperate with every single species!!) and several Labidochromis Perlmutt, also peaceful species.

I don't know are you a beginner or not. If you are a beginner Kenyi is difficult one, but not impossible to keep.

I hope that other members from this forum will give their vision of your tank/give some suggestions…

I hope that I helped a little… :?

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
I am a beginner and I learned the flaws of buying African Assortment.

I only picked him cause he was the smallest to go with my other little cichlid.

But now its bigger than pseudotropheus saulosi.

And he hides from the kenyi.

·
Registered
113 Posts
You better get rid of him, give it away or return it if possible and get some more Ps. Saulosi, they are grat,add some Labidochromis Caerleus, Labidochromis Perlmutt, Iodotropheus sprengerae and enjoy. You are the beginer these species are pretty, you will have colorfull aquarium and they are easy to keep.

What I suggest is that you take at least 5 or six from one species,that will be 20 to 24 fishes.

When you get some practice you will be able to keep more in the same volume if you like but this will work excelent trust me... :wink:

·
Premium Member
3,013 Posts
What would you like to do with the tank?
Will it be mainly a show tank?
Do you want to breed your fish?
Which colors/patterns are your favorites?

Kenyi are quite aggressive. You may have trouble finding tankmates that your kenyi will tolerate in a 55 gallon.

·