Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Administrator
41,852 Posts
Oh boy.

Well first I don't think you can add fish to the 30G. Silver dollars get big...maybe overstocked already. But I'm not experienced with non-Africans.

Regarding your filters, look up the gph (gallons per hour) of each filter. You want 7X to 10X hourly turnover.

There are exceptions, but in general, I would not combine mbuna with peacocks/haps. So for example the peaceful electra and aggressive flavus are a mix to avoid.

Malawi are harem breeders and you want 4 females for 1 male within a species. In a pair the male is likely to kill the female. So...you either want a smaller number of species in a 75G if you want male/female. Say four species. Or you want to go all-male with one male fish from each species, and choose fish that look nothing alike.

Packages like Hap/Peacock Assortment or Standard Malawi package may include hybrids or fish not to your personal taste or that will not mix well with others in your tank. I like to buy fish with a full scientific name and collection point so I know exactly what I am getting, and so I can keep the fry. I will do almost anything to avoid euthanizing a fish. :thumb:

Depending on how many fish are in the "packages and assortments" you may have too many fish for the tank size as well. For a 75G rectangle think in terms of 20 fish. It could be more or less depending on the species you choose, but just to get an idea.

·
Administrator
41,852 Posts
This would work. I would get rid of the unidentified cichlids because you cannot predict their behavior since you don't know what they are. And since you did not buy them with a scientific name, identification at this point would be more of a guess than 100% certain.
15 Pseudotropheus demasoni
1m:4f Pseudotropheus flavus
1m:4f Metriaclima estherae (red zebra)
1m:4f Iodotropheus sprengerae (rusty)

But you could also choose all male haps and peacocks. It just depends what you like.

·
Administrator