Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
50 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a newbie to cichlids and need some advice on stocking my tank. Currently have the fish in my 75 gallon and will be moving some of them to my 30 gallon tank.

Fish that will be moved to the 30 gal. What other fish can I add with these.
2 Swordtails
2 Silver Dollars
1 Red Parrot

I will leave the catfish and 2 unidentified cichlids in the 75 gallon. I want to stock the tank with the following fish so please give me your advice.

2 Pseudotropheus sp.Zebra Long Pelvic
2 Aulonocara Lemon Jake
2 Pseudotropheus flavus
2 Fire Peacock
2 Placidochromis Electra
1 Pseudotropheus demasoni
2 Labidochromis caeruleus (yellow Lab)
3 The Hap/Peacock Assortment Packages
3 The Standard Malawi packages
1 Copadichromis Borleyi red fin
1 Labidochromis chisumulae
1 Maylandia zebra "red zebra"
1 Iodotropheus Sprengerae (Rusty)
2 Bristlenose Pleco

Also need to know if I have enough filteration and if not what would you suggest.
2 - 150w Via Aqua Stainless Steel Heaters
AC110 HOB Filter
AC802 Powerhead
1800 Via Aqua Powerhead
1300GPH Wave Maker

·
Super Moderator
40,502 Posts
Oh boy.

Well first I don't think you can add fish to the 30G. Silver dollars get big...maybe overstocked already. But I'm not experienced with non-Africans.

Regarding your filters, look up the gph (gallons per hour) of each filter. You want 7X to 10X hourly turnover.

There are exceptions, but in general, I would not combine mbuna with peacocks/haps. So for example the peaceful electra and aggressive flavus are a mix to avoid.

Malawi are harem breeders and you want 4 females for 1 male within a species. In a pair the male is likely to kill the female. So...you either want a smaller number of species in a 75G if you want male/female. Say four species. Or you want to go all-male with one male fish from each species, and choose fish that look nothing alike.