Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys,

I recently found that my first tank ever has a leak. Can anyone provide me with directions on how to reseal a tank. Or are there some posted on this site that I just haven't found yet. I think I have read everything there is on the type of silicone to use. I really need some step by step instructions on exactly where to start, how to hold it all together as I go along, how to apply silicone and then put glass together, etc.

If anyone can help that would be great.

Jared

·
Registered
521 Posts
I have never done this before, but this is how I would attempt it.

First step is to remove the trim from the top and bottom of the tank. You can find instructions on how to do that elsewhere in the DIY forum.
Next you need to remove ALL of the silicone from EVERY joint. This is the most important thing to do, because new silicone does not adhere very well to old silicone.
Once all of the silicone and silicone residue is gone, place the bottom piece of glass inside the bottom trim piece. Now lay down a generous bead of silicone around the perimeter of the top of the bottom piece of glass.
Now take the front and back pieces of glass and lay a generous bead of silicone on the inside face of the glass ONLY where the side pieces will attach.

Depending on the size of the tank, you may need to enlist the help of a buddy for the next step. Place the front and back pieces where they go on top of the bottom. Don't worry about the silicone that will squeeze out.
Now lay the top piece of trim on the top of the sides. This will help hold everything in place.
Now working from the INSIDE of the tank, take one of the side pieces and tilt it toward the inside of the tank. Then slide the bottom edge of the side into place while making sure that the piece remains tilted to the inside.