Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 32 Posts

·
Registered
30 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all!

Long time lurker, first post! I've been keeping Apisto's and Discus in planted tanks for 15 years, until I moved a year ago and gave away all my tanks. I had never thought about starting a Mbuna tank until last month, when I inherited a Top-Fin 50 gallon long tank with stock LED lighting, tank dimensions are 48.25″ length x 12.75″ wide x 20″ high.

I had some questions about starting the mbuna tank, I have done some research and my "answers" or constraints are in parentheses, any help/suggestions will be very helpful/

1. Equipment: I am planning on going with 2 AC 70's (do not have enough space for a canister filter under the cabinet); For rock-scape, I'm planning on using slate and "fake" Seiryu stones. Are 2 AC 70's are adequate for filtration?

2. Stocking: I am thinking about 1m4f of the following three species: Chindongo Saulosi (difficult to acquire apparently, so any help sourcing these will be much appreciated!), Labidochromis Hongi "Red Top" OR Pseudotropheus Acei Yellow Tail, and Cynotilapia Hara "White Top" OR Pseudotropheus "Orange cap Perspicax" Ndumbi . Any red flags and/or preference suggestions between the options? (I would like some "red" in the tank, but couldn't find a good starter mbuna, I want the tank to be as colorful as possible without a bloodbath :) ).

.I would like to get adults (2.5") instead of juveniles if possible. Do you add all the fish at once or each species at a time. If one species at a time, what is the best order to add them?

Thank you all for your input, I am super excited to get this tank going!

·
Registered
65 Posts
Some like the look of the slate stacks, but I've found the more natural piles of roundish rock to be utilized much better by the fish.

If you do a proper fishless cycle with ammonia, you should be able to add all your stock at once.

·
Registered
65 Posts