Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am new to keeping Lake Malawi cichlids. I am going to be housing them in a 55g that previous was home to a GT and 2 firemouths. The water where I live is very hard with a high PH, which is what helped to aid my decision. As I was tired of tinkering with the water so much to keep my CA cichlids. I wanted to go all male peacock, maybe a few haps.

Any suggestions as to what size I should purchase them at? And how many? I was thinking starting off with about 8 males around 2.5 inches. Since I am new to this I will be researching for a month or two before I buy the fish. So any advice is appreciated.

·
Registered
478 Posts
Someone may have experiences that have worked...but a 55g might be a tiny bit small for an all male...I know the idea is overcrowding + no females = no territory.... I used a 5' 100 gallon and it was VERY feisty.... Why not a mbuna setup? you could do 3-4 active breeding groups in a 55g

The rule of thumb i've seen I've tried to follow is

3' tanks = dwarf mbuna or one breeding peacock/hap(small) group or shell dwellers (or not and)
4' tanks = mbuna 3-4 species or 2-3 breeding groups peacock /small haps
5' tanks = 3-4 breeding groups hap/peacock or an all male or 5 species mbuna
6' tanks = frontosa (or 6-7 species mbuna)

Again, some people may have all male 4' that work...but often times the temptation to throw in 'one more fish' once a peace is established can upset a delicate balance...if i did a 4' all male I would get all my fish at once like you say....I might be tempted to go with 10-12, i had the following mbuna in my all male: Ngara white tail, Yellow lab, Hongi red top, demasoni....these males didn't fight with each other and alone are not very aggerssive towards the haps/peacocks...but that was a 5' 100 gallon but you could try them plus

1) A. Baenschi
2) A. Stuartgranti
3) A. Jacobfreibergi
4) O. Lithobates