Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I'm a noob here to African Cichlids. Ok so a very reputable and known online African Cichlids dealer told me that there's no need to do a full cycle. He said to just add Stability for 7 days and you can add all the fish in with no problem. He stated that he's put in fish on day 1 after doses of stability and never lost a fish. Now I've been doing a lot of researching about having to have the good bacteria in place before adding in any fish. Can it work that fast? just in 7 days?

TIA

·
Registered
130 Posts
I wouldn't add fish until a dose of 2ppm ammonia was fully processed in 24hrs.

·
Registered
55 Posts
Cycle your tank. I don't care what anyone says, nothing is better than cycling the tank. A properly cycled tank will eliminate so many problems. Don't get in a hurry, you will regret it :)

If your tank can't process ammonia and nitrite without adding chemicals, you are not ready to add fish. The "online guy" is just trying to make a sale. I bet he is willing to sell you the stability also isn't he.

It is a shame when the very people who could have the greatest positive impact on the hobby give the worst advice because they just want to make a sell.

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Yep I'm doing the full fishless cycle. I just read and watched a ton of videos talking about the importance of doing a proper cycle.

·
Registered
449 Posts
NewkeeperRico said:
Yep I'm doing the full fishless cycle. I just read and watched a ton of videos talking about the importance of doing a proper cycle.