Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
587 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this hobby and this may sound like a silly question. I have a Eheim 2075 G160 canister filter. I've read the instructions but no where in detail does it explain where exactly the spraybar (output) should be located and the direction of water flow should be.

Do I have the spray bar submersed and the water flow straight down?

Or do I have the spray bar raised above the surface and have the water flow across the surface to move water. I read about the gas exchange across surface of the water so I have it setup this way.

Do I really need an submersible air blower to move water in the tank? These are not cheap

·
Registered
977 Posts
on one of my tanks the spray bar is at the opposite end of the tank from the intake. It's aimed at about 45 degrees down. Just about at the water line or a bit below, so it creates some movement.

·
Registered
1,131 Posts
I keep my under the water about two inches pointed upward at a 45 or so degree to agitate the surface.

·
Registered
656 Posts
It's really about your personal preference, It can be above, at, or below the water line, as long as it's creating surface agitation. I have mine at the water level, with the the holes blowing the water across the surface because that tank is in my bedroom and this seems to be the quietest option.

·
Super Moderator
1,840 Posts
I also have the spraybar oriented to ripple the surface of the water a bit. This helps to break up the oily film that can develop on the water surface and allows a better gas exchange in the tank.

There should be no need of an air pump with air stones or a powerhead to agitate the water surface as you can do that with the spraybar.

·
Registered
4,998 Posts