Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
91 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone,
I just lost a lot of African cichlids while on vacation. I have a 75g with just a calico litbobates and deep water Hap left. I’ve been keeping African cichlids for 20+ years but am tired of the fighting and overstocking of the tank.
I was thinking of converting to a ca tank since my water parameters are pretty hard. I feel I’d rather have fewer fish and see more behavior but don’t want super aggression either.
my thought was rainbow cichlids or cichlid and and some compatible fish. Would rainbows be better in a group with some dithers, or say could I mix them with a Jack Dempsey? I also like blue acaras, Severums and geophagus red head tapajos, though I know they are South American cichlids.
Would any of these combos work, or are there any other suggestions? Nicaraguan cichlids, females especially also look nice.

thank you

·
Super Moderator
6,176 Posts
Oh.... responded to your post there,
before I caught up to your post, here. :)
-
And, welcome to the New World scene. I can play around a bit with those Africans, and had my day with a 150 gallon tank, just chock-full of the endless Chasing, Nipping, Displaying and Spawning activities with those African Mbuna Cichlids. After many years of constantly dealing with that sort of kind of Mindless Anger & Energy, it DID INDEED all grow a bit tiresome to keep in an aquarium. No character (or not much) in those African Mbuna Cichlids? So, my heart in this journey has really, always been with those New World Cichlids.
And sure! If you really are looking to try something different from the African scene? Maybe slow things down just a notch or two in that 75 gallon tank?
Why not?!!
But priorities must needs first,
  • To Plant (with Live Aquatic Plants) or not? That could be - The Question.
  • Smaller and more? Or, bigger and less? (Species that is....)
  • To spawn, or not? That might just be - The OTHER Question.
-