Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
18 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I think instead of going for the multi's for my 20g long, since i have no experience with cichlids and I don't want to accidentally kill them with inexperience, I might go with the cookie cutter for a pair of german rams, rummy nose tetras and instead of the blue Emperors, i might go for some cory cats. I was thinking of going with simple plants that I know i can grow, Java fern, java moss. I was wondering if i should go with an eco complete substrate or maybe just go with sand because i love the look of sand. And I'll go with a piece or two of driftwood in there as well. I was wondering if there were any other plants that were really easy to take care of like the Java fern and don't require alot of attention. I know i've wrote alot but i guess i'm mainly asking, which substrate should i go with and what plants?

·
Registered
377 Posts
I will give you another easy plant.
anubias

The java fern, java moss, and anubias are considered easy because they can grow at low light. If your willing to provide 2 watts per gallon, plants like valisneria and amazon swords become easy to grow. But, I cant fault anubias, java fern, or moss. They are great plants, and I have all three in my tank.

None of those plants root into the substrate, so it doesnt matter what you use. Usually, you tie them to a piece of driftwood, but I have had luck getting the roots to grow into the gravel too. The main key for anubias and java fern is to make sure the rizome stays above the surface of the substrate. Java moss will just cling to everything, but wont bury itself. I use eco complete for my rams, but that is for a planted tank, some people suggest sand so that they can dig a little, im going to say that it is up to your personal preference as to what you use. Plants seem to prefer gravel, but like I said before, it doesnt matter with your types of plants.