Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
178 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've promised this for a while, but I finally got around to documenting and wanted to share the battery backup system I made for my Simplicity DC return pumps.

Before you read below, please note that I'm not an electrician and I make no warranties whatsoever about whether the below is safe or will work in your situation or prevent your fishes from suffering a grim-power-failure-induced-fate, or whether I know how to annotate wiring diagrams correctly or generally what the heck I'm talking about. However - this functions as intended.

Premise - the pump in question works on 24 volt, Direct Current power, 24v dc. Batteries make DC current. Two 12v batteries together will make 24v dc power sufficient to run my DSC3200 simplicity pump.

battery wiring.jpg

Here's the problem - how do you hook this up so the battery works when the main pump power supply shuts off (Power goes out)? I used a power relay switch and some 2.1mm x 5.5mm DC Terminal Jack Socket wires I got off the interwebs.
A relay is a device that uses an electromagnetic coil to switch from one power source to another. When the coil is charged because the power is on, the pump is pulling power from the power supply that came with the pump. The 2.1 5.5mm jacks are the correct ones to plug directly into the pump controller and power supply. When the coil is not charged, like for example, the power goes out, the relay is providing power to the pump from the batteries. Here's a pic of the relay all wired up.
Relay big picture.jpg

I got a relay that goes on socket base for easy wiring. This then goes on a standard bus rail and screws to the wall of the stand. The relay has a wiring diagram that corresponds to numbers 1-8 where wires attach. Here is how I've wired mine up. Check inside the red box.
Relay Wiring.jpg