Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Thanks for viewing. your input is appreciated

I have been keeping Saulosi for about 8 months now. I have had my females hold several times now and none of the fry have made it once they were spit. (The first several batches i just let go in my large tank and hoped they would survive). With this last batch i decided i would attempt to strip the female. I set up a spare 20 gallon i had and used filter media from my established tank to seed it. I caught the female and, using all precautions, stipped the fry from her and placed them in the 20g.

Now my issue is THEY WONT EAT! i read that its a good idea to get a turkey baster and use that to force crushed flake food down to them. THEY STILL WONT EAT! any advice would be great!

Facts:

-20g Hex
-bare bottom
-80 degrees
-Ocean Nutritian Cichlid Formula
-no water changes yet, fry have only been in tank for a day
-Perameters are exact same as 55g

·
Registered
176 Posts
Leave the food sit in the tank none of my fry never eat when I'm around but they are all living and are all healthy so they are eating something I've only seen my fry eat once.

·
Premium Member
3,013 Posts
The fry are usually not ready to eat right away after stripping - especially if there is yolk sac still visible. If I strip at day 18, the fry usually will not start eating until about 3-4 days later.

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thanks for the comments. i stripped fry at day 21. there is no yolk sac visable. I will give it a few days and see if i notice them eating.

They dont move much at first. They all huddle together in one corner. haha its kinda funny to watch

·
Registered
1,111 Posts