Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
843 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So, my yellow lab spit about a week ago, free swimmers. How long should I wait (to fatten her up) before reintroducing her? (I know people have probably mentioned this, but I cannot remember the threads . . .)

·
Registered
169 Posts
I'm still a novice, but so far my opinion is to put her back right away. I tried to fatten up a mom that had lost a lot of weight but I didn't have a big tank and she never relaxed in the small tank I put her in (even though I gave her rocks and things). She really didn't gain much so I finally put her back in the 75G where she is currently doing fine. On the other hand I have put a female right back in the 75G after stripping and the next day she was 'at the front of the line' at feeding time. :p

·
Registered
843 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Well....I would normally have agreed with you...except...

The first lab I saw holding, I took her out. I actually noticed bigger babies in the tank which had survived from a previous hold. Got the two of them out too. Put them in a 10g.

She soon spit. Then I saw a second Mom four days later. I (took all the rocks out again) added her to the 10. However, Mom #1 starting picking on Mom #2 who was still holding.

So, I took Mom #1, and reintroduced her at night (lights off), and she was fine. However, Mom #1 is now holding again, about 4-5 days later. I worry now that she'll be half dead by the time she spits the second time.

:( So.....going to hold out on Mom #2 until she fattens back up. I keep rocks in there so she's settled in as best she can in such a small tank. I'll move her out when I move Mom #1 in again I guess. I really hope I didn't kill Mom #1 by reintroducing her so soon :?

·
Registered
169 Posts