Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have 1m/5f yellow labs in a 55g hex.
One female is always hiding out at the top of the tank behind the filter intake. The other 4 are constantly being corralled by the male towards the front of the tank.
My question is has she been rejected from the harem and if so why? Could it be that the male sees her as a threat since she is larger (she is the largest of the females)?
I know she is a female as I have seen her hold a couple of times (unsuccessfully).
Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
169 Posts
I have seen some of my fish do that hiding behind the filter intake thing but in every case it has been a male who was hiding from the dominant male. I'm afraid I have no experience with a female who has been rejected like this. I have been keeping cichlids for less than a year so I know there are things I haven't seen yet. What you describe does not make sense to me though. I have seen a small male spawn successfully with a female much larger than himself, so I don't think that size is an issue between the sexes. If your female is intimidated into hiding, I would suspect the other females before accusing the dominant male.

My two cents...

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks for the reply. However, when she is not in hiding she is usually chasing the others around, and if anyone gets near her hiding spot she'll chase them away. The male hangs alomst directly below her as if he trying to keep her there...

·
Super Moderator
40,502 Posts
She is just low fish on the totem pole. Watch for injuries.

·
Registered
639 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
I guess so. She looks great never any injuries, eats well, just always hiding. I'll keep an eye on her and pull her out if need be.
Thanks.

·
Registered
589 Posts