Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
20180811_103633.jpg

This is my first time decorating with rock. Does it look to forced or man-made? To many different colors? Just looking for others opinions.
The plan is for this to be a Peacock tank.
Thanks

·
Registered
165 Posts
It's really difficult to critique someone else's vision. If I suggest you move that rock to there and this rock to here, then it's my vision, not yours.

I would suggest you keep tweaking it until you see something you like. Or, if you already see something you like, keep it.

I personally like mixing rocks, plants and driftwood, but not everyone does, and that's okay.

·
Super Moderator
1,862 Posts
I agree with fish_gazer's comments above. If you are happy and the fish will be happy, that's all that matters.

I prefer rocks that are similar in color and tend to pile rocks higher though that can be difficult sometimes due to shapes. It also takes me quite a few tries moving them around until I like the way they look.

Adding a solid color background behind the tank would also help to avoid the distracting cords. You could use water proof poster board or similar material, just cut to fit.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
So the background should be inside the tank? I have never had one bit think it would be a sleek addition.

·
Super Moderator
1,862 Posts
No, I would put it on the outside of the tank since you already have the tank full of water and I'm not sure if that product can be used in the tank.

You can use tape to attach it to the rear of the tank; place the tape on the back of the material and then tape to either the glass sides or to the plastic trim of the tank. Just use the front of the tank glass as your template to cut the poster board and then attach to the back glass.

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·