Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
127 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello friends,

I've been interested in Pseudotropheus flavus ever since I first saw pics of them in some other posts.
My local lfs just got some juvies in and I was asking one of the employees about them and he said they were really nasty and would make a project out of killing my other fish off. I already have red zebras, elongatus', afras in my 125g. Compared to these guys are they really as nasty as I've been told?
Just curious of others experiences with Pseudotropheus flavus... They are sooooo nice looking!!

Cheers!

·
Registered
2,416 Posts
I had one in an all male tank and he was the most aggressive out of 12 fish i had. He also looked the best when he was really mad and terrorizing other fish.

I have no experience with them in a harem set-up.

·
Registered
448 Posts
I don't have personal experience but I've heard they can be pretty nasty. I would worry about them in your tank due to the Cyno Afras and also the elongatus wouldn't work with them due to both species having vertical bars (flavus/elongatus).

The RZ's would be fine though. I think if you (just throwing this out there) are really interested in getting the Flavus I'd get rid of the Afra/elongatus and look at maybe some more aggressive mbuna like Socolofi, Labeotropheus trewavasae or Labeotropeus fuelleborni, most of your Metriaclima (that don't have vertical stripes) should be okay and probably even most of the Tropheops would be okay.

You could do a lot of combos in a 125 with Flavus and have a nice looking tank, you just gotta make sure you put the right combination with them.

·
Registered
485 Posts
IME Flavus are pretty aggressive & with your afra/elongatus it would probably be an issue.
Usually only the dom. male will have the bright yellow/black color, females/sub-doms do not.

·
Registered
69 Posts