Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone. I am still very new to the site and this is my second post so bare with me if im do something wrong. I recently changed my africans over from a 20 gallon tank and upgraded them to a 55. I have two bio wheels in there but someone I read some posts on here about needing a powerhead. So I went and bought a marineland powerhead today and I just had some questions on it. Should it stay on all the time? Also is it normal for it to be up near the top of the tank and pointing upwards. I didnt know if it should be way down by my rocks, or in the middle, or up top but up top looked most normal. Also do I need more than one. I got the marineland 550 submersible powerhead. And should it be on full blast or just like middle? And my last question is what does having this do for my fish and my tank? Thanks everyone...Im still learning...

·
Registered
10,006 Posts
They can aid in circulation and aeration/oxygenation of the water. There are different strategies for placement. I put mine up near the surface pointing toward the surface to get surface ripple. But there are also good reasons to put them lower. You may need to get more lower level water moving so it gets to the surface because that's where the gas exchange takes place. CO2 is given off while oxygen is taken in at the surface. Speed of flow depends on a lot of things, but generally you don't need them to be blasting the fish around like leaves in the wind just to get the water movement that you need. I like two smaller ones at a lower flow in the back corners, rather than one stronger one, but no hard rules. Put them too low and they can blow your sand around. Most any placement will benefit. The goal is to increase water movement and circulation.

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·