Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I am new to the group. You'll probably see me on here regularly from now on as I have found the Facebook groups on cichlids to be less than helpful whenever I actually need pointers on something. Anyway, perhaps you can help me with this recent problem. While I have been keeping fish for many years, I first took the dive into cichlids less than a year ago and overall it has gone smoothly. Recently I noticed two problems in my male peacock/hap tank.

While the pictures do not do the problem justice, three of the fish in my male peacock/hap tank have developed a redness at the base of one of their pectoral fins. One also has a little redness at the base of the pelvic and anal fins. First it was just two fish, but I noticed a third with the redness tonight that did not have it a few days ago. The third and fourth pics are just to show the redness is not visible on both sides. Any idea what is going on here? Aggression in the tank seems minimal, but I do see some frayed fins on occasion and I am gradually increasing the stocking (125 gallons with 23 fish at the moment), but the fish in question are not colored up and are presumably toward the bottom of the pecking order. No flashing behavior in any of the fish, and poops look normal. A few fish have always been on the skinny side and I started the tank on NLF hex shield two days ago in the belief that the problem was bacterial rather than parasitic or due to underfeeding, but I first noticed the redness over a week before I started the tank on hex shield so the medication is not to blame.

125 gallon/500 liter, pH 8.2, ammonia 0, nitrite 0, nitrate closer to 5 than to 10 (tested with a brand new API master test kit). Temperature is 782F/25.6C. SunSun 702b and 302 plus wavemaker. Weekly water changes >50%.