Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey everyone my friend is selling his standard 4 foot 75 gallon fish tank with a built in sump. He wants to know if I'm interested in it, but I would really like to make it into a discus tank. First I have a few questions...

1) How many discus could I fit in this size tank, I know they like height more than length, so would this limit how many I could have?

2) I have seen a lot of plants and other things in some discus tanks on this and other sites. What kind of plants go best and look the best in discus tanks. Also do I need a special light for these plants?

3) What other types of fish could I get along with the discus in this size tank? I'm not a huge fan of the normal community fish like tetras and stuff, so maybe rams or something? I have no knowledge of American cichlids haha

4) Maybe show me some pics of a discus set up you have that has been successful for you.

5) What hardness and pH do they like? And I think they like higher temps is that right?

Thanks for any help.

·
Registered
7,422 Posts
a 75g with a sump can be a great choice for a first time Discus tank. Are you thinking of buying youngsters? or adult Discus?

You could likely have a group of 8, or a mated (proven) pair with pretty good success. Personally, I would go with barebottom to grow out a group of 8... it's a ton of fun to watch these little things grow and mature and the barebottom tank allows for a nice warm tank that you can keep pristine!

Don't do plants and Discus unless you've done both prior... my 2 cents.

As for the hardness of the water (please ignore pH), match the water as closely as you can from wherever the Discus were bred. Get your fish from a local breeder if you can... ask him/her what the fish were grown out in and match it! :thumb:

·
Registered
466 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·