Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
for my upcoming sump project, I am considering using just poret foam. I will have three sheets of the foam with increasing density with no bypass dividing the sump in half. water drains into one end and pumped out from the other. very simple design. this also allows you to fill the sump water level higher comparing to conventional bio-balls which need to be exposed to air. of course leaving enough room for the back fill.

the tank will be 6x3x2.5(h), 325g and the sump I am considering is a standard 75g. the pump will be around 2400 gph factoring in the head. maybe a pair of pumps as there are two return holes.

any merit to this? I have never used poret foams before so here's a few questions:

how thick should the foams be?
how long do you think the foams need to be serviced? consider all the crud will be trapped in the foam.

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
I would use a 4" thick 10PPI sheet. You could add a 10PPI and a 20PPI if you feel the need as well. My sump uses this exact setup with one 10PPI sheet and works wonderfully. They say poret takes a while to get dirty before you have to clean it, like 6 months to a year. I've had mine in about a month or two and it looks brand new.

·
Registered
234 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
RRasco said:
I would use a 4" thick 10PPI sheet. You could add a 10PPI and a 20PPI if you feel the need as well. My sump uses this exact setup with one 10PPI sheet and works wonderfully. They say poret takes a while to get dirty before you have to clean it, like 6 months to a year. I've had mine in about a month or two and it looks brand new.
RR - do you see poop accumulates in front of the foam on the bottom as well?

·
Registered
1,179 Posts
I don't see any accumulation. I would expect to somewhere, but not yet. It used to accumulate in the refugium and the return compartment, which is now crystal clear.