Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I am new to the fish world. Bought a 220 gal tank of off Craig's List, it came with 12-14 Cichlids, not sure what kind as the guy I bought them off of didn't know either, just bought what looked cool.
Anyway, my husband doesn't like the top that the guy had on it, and is building another one out of Cedar. He is going to put a couple of coats of polyurethane on it to protect it. Will this be harmful to the fish in anyway?
I don't want to do anything to harm the fish. I am really enjoying my new hobby, never realized how hooked I could get!

Thanks for any help!

Candace

·
Registered
746 Posts
I'm no expert on polyurethane but I can say that many people use it with any discovered effects. For sure when it is wet polyurethane is pretty potently toxic, especially water based. But as long as it has cured for the recommended time it should be ok. I usually give it another 24-48 hours extra just in case though.

·
Registered
2,893 Posts
I seem to remember Polyurethane being used to seal bamboo prior to it being added to a tank. obviously you would need to look for a additive free version (so no mould inhibitor or similar)

the hood shouldn't be a problem, but you could add a cover glass to minimise evaporation (and thereby condensation) and then not worry about it

·
Registered
1,334 Posts
Starting out with a 220g.... WOW!
Congrats and welcome to the forum!
Literally hundreds of DIY (Do It Yourself) projects here that have used poly. And as said, as long as it is cured your good to go!!!

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thank you everyone for the much needed advice. The top is in place, and hopefully it will work ok. It really looks beautiful! The only coated the outside, nothing underneath.
If only I could figure out what kind of Cichlids I have. With the size of my aquarium, from what I have been reading, I can put quite a few more fish in.