Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I purchased a 54 gallon corner tank from marketplace a few days ago. I’m pretty new to fish keeping in general, and I did not realize the mess this tank was. Fish either came with the tank or he would flush them.

Apparently he had consolidated tanks or put some aggressive fish in with some peaceful community fish for some other reason. He posted the tank for sale two months ago, so I figured the tank mates were fine. There were four swordtails (all moved today, after one of the males had his tail nipped and was bullied overnight) and two rainbow fish (still in the tank). There are two cichlids and a yellow Chinese algae eater about 3-4 inches long.

Tank parameters
Ammonia 0
Nitrite 0
Nitrate 20
pH 7.4
Temp 79F
We’re on well water that’s pretty hard, though I haven’t tested it.

Filter is a HOB; seller said it was rated for 65 gallons. I modified it by removing the carbon cartridges and replacing with coarse foam, then mesh bags filled with bio rings and the used floss cut from the old cartridge, then new filter floss. I also added a sponge filter that’s supposed to be rated for 55 gallons.

You can see the rock cave type decorations; these also both have air stones attached.

1. Do I need to remove the rainbow fish and/or algae eater sooner than later? Might the CAE live for a while in a tank with mbunas? I have read the accounts that this species can reach 11” and become so aggressive that it sucks slime coating off of other fish. My kids call him the weird janitor fish. 😆

2. Can I get an ID on the cichlids? The darker one I am pretty sure is a melanochromis auratus female? The other a bumblebee or a Kenyi male?