Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have lost several fish over the last few days... i have noticed that there was a slime on my driftwood, that i removed from the tank.....

i tested the water and i have bad reading in ammonia and nitrate and nitrite... so obviously i screwed something up or something happened...

my guys look real bad on the bottom of the tank, hiding and they are gasping.... look a bit better this am, but lost a syndon cat this am....

i don't want to fail at this and feel real bad they are dying ...\\

what can i do to fix this, as i am still very new to this hobby

·
Super Moderator
40,499 Posts
Do large water changes to get the ammonia and nitrite down. What are your exact readings?

·
Registered
4,581 Posts
Yep- large water changes (50% twice today, and one more tomorrow), making sure to add dechlorinator. Stop feeding, keep the lights off, and add some table salt (dissolve 1 tablespoon in hot water for every 10 gallons in your tank).

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
thaks, did a large water change yesterday...... another one coming today...... lights are off, no more feeding and dissolved the salts...

anything else...... i am struggling with this, and hate seeing my guys like this....

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
:(

now my elite sub 300w heater just cracked and the tube slid down.... man, i dont have time today to get a new one... what do i do, its still working, and the light is on..... but is this a bad idea to leave in there... with all the othe problems i have been having....

what to do now...

·
Registered
4,581 Posts
Unplug the heater, let it cool, and get it out of there immediately. A broken heater can poison or electrocute your fish.

Did you leave it plugged in during a water change? :(