Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am new to planted aquariums, but am thinking about trying things out. I am looking for plants that would do well in pool filter sand with standard lighting. Also, what would I have the easiest time finding? I am not sure is this is even possible, but any suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks!

-Chad

·
Registered
377 Posts
standard lighting means??

at 1.5 watts per gallon, you can grow anubias, java fern, java moss

at 2 watts per gallon, you can add the above plus, swords, val, bacopa, hygro plus a few more.

at above....that gets tricky with co2 and ferts like crazy.

Most plants dont really like sand, but anubias, java fern, and moss dont root into the substrate, so they would be fine...stem plants like bacopa and hygro might also work since they can just sort of hang out.

·
Registered
720 Posts
Standard lighting surely isn't more than 2WPG, and is likely much less than 1WPG. You'll have the easiest time finding...what you have the easiest time finding, i.e. what is locally available. You'll probably be able to find hornwort. I'd suggest starting with that. If you really like plants, you'll need a better light.

·
Registered
720 Posts
macclellan said:
Standard lighting surely isn't more than 2WPG, and is likely much less than 1WPG. You'll have the easiest time finding...what you have the easiest time finding, i.e. what is locally available. You'll probably be able to find hornwort. I'd suggest starting with that. If you really like plants, you'll need a better light.
naegling23 said:
Most plants dont really like sand, but anubias, java fern, and moss dont root into the substrate, so they would be fine...stem plants like bacopa and hygro might also work since they can just sort of hang out.