Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
Registered
306 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello everyone :) . I'm in process of getting my tank restocked and I already have my selections picked out except for the species that will be the "main attraction" of the tank, so to speak. The fish I will have already once I get said fish will be (sets of 1 male to 3 females) blue cobalts, yellow labs, and an undecided peacock species.

I'm learning fast but I'm still very new to this, and don't know about the various types cichlids more than google images and whatnot can show me. I would love a compatible large fish, and colorful of course. Not sure If what I'm hoping is actually possible but if anyone would know I'm sure it's one of you. Thank you so much for any input I can get on this I'm pretty clueless on this particular subject.

·
Registered
42 Posts
You could try for a male german red or sunshine peacock.

·
Registered
78 Posts
Peacocks might not color up as much as you would like with the mbuna, but you could try a Lwanda or one of the Jake variants. They are known for being a bit more aggressive. I personally think the Lwanda is the coolest peacock out there anyway.

·
Registered
19 Posts
Hi Teggy,
Well I have a very similar setup that is up and working quite well for me. I have Yellow Labs, Cobalt Blue Zebras and OB (Orange Blotch) Peacocks. At this point in my fish keeping the OB Peacocks would probally not be my first choice if I was to do it over again. But I started out with a very limited local fish store. On the flip side of that I am very happy with my tank because the most important consideration for me was to have a peaceful tank. I have a very stressful job and have no interest of watching my fish fight all night when I get home. I will say that all the fish in my tank get along extreemly well with no fighting between species.

·
Registered
72 Posts
I second the LWANDA. It is gorgeous. I also love the NGARA Flame Tail. (both peacocks)

·
Registered