Cichlid Fish Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys I'm new with cichlids and am trying my hand at breeding L. strappersi. It's challenging to get a hold of the little guys here but I have acquired 3 individuals of varying size over several months and have them in separate 10 gallons right now. When I put any of them together in a common aquarium (with lots of shells) there is serious non-stop aggression (combinations of displays with dark colors and head down tilting and straight out ramming and biting at one another) and I get nervous and separate them. I tried lots of rocks and visual barriers but they seek one another out and start fighting regardless. Does this mean I have all males? Or could there still be a female and they just need more space or more time to settle in? Also how much aggression should I allow? Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
31,206 Posts
A 10 gallon aquarium just might not work for this speces. How big are they? What is the size differences between them?

·
Registered
10,006 Posts
I know with other shellies that when they get to the size where aggression is this serious, you can usually differentiate m/f by size, bulk, color, etc. If you can't see any difference, and also based on behavior, it sounds like you may have all males. If one or more were females, then I think she'd be cowering in a corner, not standing her ground. But, I'm going by occelatus and ornatipinnis behavior, which I believe would be similar. If you could get a video, we might be able to confirm it.

And 10 gallons is too small for them. If you have multiple males, they will never tolerate each other in that small of a space. And a female will have nowhere to hide until accepted. You need a 20 long, at least, to do this.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
okay thanks! I'll move to the 20 gallon...